#YA Excerpt

I’m working on a YA r&r. Here’s a snippet.

“Hey.”
I jump even though I recognize his voice. Somebody’s answered my silent prayer and turned on the lights. He’s standing on the window ledge, shirtless. A gentle breeze ruffles his hair. He’s beautiful and muscled. My heart skips a beat when he smiles.
“Hey,” I whisper afraid the girls or Dad will hear me.
He waves. “How are you feeling?”
I’m grinning so hard it’s hard to answer him. “Great.”
“Come on down,” he says.
I shake my head. Dad’s still up and his study’s downstairs. He’ll definitely notice if I leave the house. Dad is pretty strict with us regarding to boys and stuff. That’s why I’m amazed my sisters have been brave enough to start kissing.
“Skye?” Claude’s voice pulls me out of my thoughts.
“You coming or not?”
I shake my head.
He shakes his head and disappears inside his house. I’m on a high as I prepare to shut the sliding door and call it a night. Claude actually spoke to me. Every cell in my body sings in ecstasy.
“Early bird?”
I jump at the sound of his voice behind me. “H…how…” My voice trails off.
“…did I get up here?” He leans against the balcony railing, still shirtless. “I have skills.” He grins.
It’s hard to keep my eyes of his wide shoulders, broad chest and abs. “Okay.” I don’t know what else to say. My face heats up because of his closeness and naked muscled torso.
He holds out a bunch of red roses. “Hope you’re feeling better.”
“I am and thanks.” The scent of the roses are unlike I’ve ever smelt before. “They’re beautiful.”
“Grown especially for you.” He grins revealing sparkling, white teeth.
My insides melt when he grins. Shit. I had no idea he’d affect me like this once I finally saw him and spoke to him.
“Thanks.”
“You should put them in some water before they die,” he says.
“Yeah.” There’s a vase with fresh water on my outside table with two yellow roses – from Nina and Dawn. I pop the fresh bunch of roses inside the vase and wonder what to say next. He’s still leaning against the balcony railing the minute I turn around.
“Don’t you think it’s ironic?”
“What?”
He straightens himself and I realize he’s much taller than I imagined. “That I turned out to be such an amazing singer after all and you got your eyesight back.”
My heart beats harder. “Yes, you are an extraordinary singer…”
He laughs again. “I’m kidding. Are you always this serious?”
I shrug. “I guess…”
“So have you written any songs since you got your eyesight back?”
“Dozens. Would you like to hear one?”
His smile vanishes. “We had a deal, remember?”

Leave a Reply

