Excerpt from FIGHT FOR ME – prequel to Rescue Me #NA #amwriting

CHAPTER ONE
Leaking gasoline. Check.
Faulty brakes. Check.
I take a deep breath, check my reflection in the rear view mirror and count to ten. My nerves are on edge and my pulse races.
You’re doing the right thing, Cora, I tell myself even though every cell in my body argues otherwise. This is the right thing to do. It is for a good cause. Then why all the reassuring? I question my reflection. If everything was right about this project, why are you so nervous?
I’m not nervous, I’m just scared something will go wrong.
What can possibly go wrong? I wonder. I’ve rehearsed this scene over and over in my head. The simulation went perfectly. All I have to do is crash the car and wait for him to rescue me.
The FEELERS told me he can sniff danger a mile away. Everyone I’ve met at the organization I recently joined raves about him. They’re eager to bring him onto our team – they have a vision of a crime free world and they’re starting by cleaning up one town at a time. It’s about time we lived in a Utopia. I’ve always wanted to be a crime fighter – without having to become a cop. Bad guys needs their asses kicked because the law doesn’t always work in the victim’s favor. I’ve seen more crooked cops in my life than justice. Is that a reason enough to trick Caleb Daniels? my conscience questions.

Leave a Reply

